top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemadisonschony

What you haven't seen of my research...

My summer research has come to an end as I gave my final presentation last Friday. I've been able to share a lot of my research from this summer, including the process of gaining data from mTurk and even sharing my poster for WSTS on my blog.


However, there is a lot of "behind the scenes" work that you aren't clued into--and I don't just mean the work that went into the poster or the research process. Instead, I'm indicating much of the research I conduct that is often related, but more-so interesting, including media posts I've enjoyed this summer.


Weekly, my requirement has been to find something in the media (an article, a meme, a podcast, a song, a poster, a blog post, an infographic, a quote, etc.) to share during group meetings that is related to my area of research.


However, I have enjoyed this assignment so much that it often branches outside of my current research projects and into other arenas of psychology or science.


Thus, I am making this post to share many of the interesting things I have found and thoroughly enjoyed consuming this summer.



TED talks:



This TED talk was eye-opening. Damon Horowitz talked about requiring a moral operating system, much like we have other systems of operation. This would include guidelines for what is right and wrong, allowing for there to be no difference of opinion, but rather fact of some sort.


However, this concept is difficult with differing cultural morals. It would be nice to have some sort of universal moral operating system, but at this point in time, it seems too far off from our cultural capabilities to instill. 




This TED talk wasn't nearly as related to psychology as I had thought based on the title. Nonetheless, it was very motivational and a fun watch.


My fellow researcher thoroughly enjoyed trying the drawings for herself and finding that she could, in fact, draw!



This has by far been my favorite TED talk of the summer. I already wrote about it in a previous blog post, but I think it is important to post about again!


This TED talk was AMAZING. It really opened my eyes to the function of reason. I think their point of treating all things equally really hit home with some of my current interests in conservation psychology.


With much of the focus being on animal cruelty with the Fair Oaks Farms (FairLife milk), the line about animal cruelty being equal to the emerging morals we have now created based on reasoning really stuck with me. I have considered going vegetarian/vegan and so this made perfect sense and really interests me as far as what direction our morals will lean in the future.



This was another, beautiful study that brings a light to the devastating disease of dementia. I love how they designed a village to allow those without full-mental functioning to operate in a more traditional fashion--one without exclusion. Instead, they bring these individuals into a safe society where they can be free to carry out their day as they please.


This last TED talk was interesting and engaging as Kelly McGonigal discussed ways to use stress to propel positive actions.


I'm a girl who loves some TED talks so you may be seeing more posts in the future about more of my favorites. I have even created a folder of talks to listen to while I workout/run. It is a great way to keep up on current information and learn something new while enjoying it!



Podcasts:


I've been enjoying listening to podcasts through an app I downloaded on my phone and access through my laptop as well, called Stitcher.


I listened to Anxiety and Teen Girls (SOP82) by Speaking of Psychology, a podcast by the American Psychological Association. It was interested in listening to the very articulate guest, Dr. Lisa Damour, talk about young girls and the anxiety many of them experience.


Another Speaking of Psychology podcast I enjoyed was Psychology of Fashion (SOP85). I especially enjoyed this podcast since I, myself, enjoy the clothes I wear everyday and I care about my impact on the environment. Dr. Carolyn Mair discussed the ways we can reduce waste by resisting buying fad clothing.



Articles:


Although there is a lot that pertains to this section, a limited list follows:


1. A Study on Driverless-Car Ethics Offers a Troubling Look Into Our Values by Caroline Lester



If ethics and futuristic cars interest your, this article is right up your alley! This truly opened my eyes to the necessity of studying ethics in the current era.


2. Today's Masculinity is Stifiling by Sarah Rich



Although unrelated to my research topic, I couldn't help but read this article relating to gender and expectations. It was beautifully written and wonderful to read.


3. Science's Newest Miracle Drug is Free



This last article, as recommended to me by the chair of the UW-Platteville psychology department, Dr. Elizabeth Gates, will interest many readers with similar interests to mine: nature, health, social change, and mental health. Give it a read if any of these topics are of interest to you!



(Audio)book:


I have been loving listening to The Happiness Advantage by Shaun Achor on an app called Libby. Not only is the app amazing, with the ability to borrow books on the app using my regular library card, but the book itself is absolutely astounding! I highly recommend this book to anyone with an interest in positive psychology. It has really inspired me to make some changes for a happier outlook on my progress in my academic career.



Thank you for reading and enjoy exploring media for psychological topics!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page